Daines, Gosar Outline Vision for Senate and Congressional Western Caucuses

Mar 9, 2017
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, Congressional Western Caucus Chairman Rep. Paul A. Gosar D.D.S. (AZ-04) and Senate Western Caucus Chairman Sen. Steve Daines (R-MT) hosted a press conference in which they outlined their vision for the Caucus.

The event was Chairman Daines and Chairman Gosar’s first public appearance together since taking the reins of the Western Caucus.

"I was thrilled to be joined today by the new Senate Western Caucus Chairman, Senator Steve Daines, as we laid out our vision for the Western Caucus and the new Congress. We are a powerful voting block and are going to be a real force. The aggressive agenda presented at this joint press conference is just the beginning. We are filled with optimism and are excited to work with the new Administration to Make America and the West Great Again," said Chairman Gosar.

Chairman Gosar also highlighted the early successes of the Congressional Western Caucus stating, "Since I have taken over leardership of the House Caucus, we have added 23 new Members and total Caucus membership currently includes 66 Members in the House of Representatives. Our Members represent 31 states and the American Samoa."

Click HERE to read Chairman Gosar's full statement.

Click HERE to watch an archived webcast of the press conference.

Daines was elected as the new Senate Western Caucus Chairman on February 3, 2017.

Gosar was elected as the new Congressional Western Caucus Chairman on November 30, 2016.

The Senate Western Caucus was founded in 2009 by outgoing Chairman John Barrasso (R-WY). Barrasso will remain Chairman Emeritus. The Senate Western Caucus is made up of Senators from Western and rural states who are committed to upholding the fundamental principles of the West and will help advance priorities important to Western and rural states.

The Congressional Western Caucus was founded during the 103rd Congress in 1993 by Rep. Jim Hansen (R-UT), Rep. Bob Stump (R-AZ), Rep. Joe Skeen (R-NM), and Rep. Barbara Vucanovich (R-NV). The Congressional Western Caucus is comprised of 64 members representing over 31 states in addition to the American Samoa. Members of the Caucus place a high priority on coordinating with state and local governments, support a multi-use approach for federal lands, and look forward to achieving great successes for land use reforms and those who know that economic growth and conservation are not mutually exclusive goals.